A Veggie Dinner for Bill

Finally Dad is here when Mom and I are cooking a nice dinner, and this meal is just for him.  I have been wanting to try one salad from Bon Appetite when the issue came out this January: Blood Orange, Beet, and Fennel Salad.  I started scavenging for other dishes that would compliment our much-anticipated salad.  We found a Roasted Fingerling Potato Salad, and Spinach Soup with Rosemary Croutons.  Our evening is being filled with Scrabble and relaxed cooking–the perfect combination.  Cheese and crackers to tide us over until Dad gets home for dinner.  

Earlier today we did some planting–squash, cucumbers, and basil.  I’m enjoying my last day of an unemployed nineteen-year-old…tomorrow I start work, and I cannot wait.  

I’m happy to say that the Spinach Soup was a huge success–and the croutons were a very nice topping.  Crunchy, yet satisfying… Even my dad liked it!  The potato salad was also great– I loved used roasted potatoes rather than boiled and chilled like in regular summer potato salad.  For the orange, beet, and fennel salad we used naval oranges due to a severe lack of blood oranges in Damariscotta today, but it was still very refreshing.  The fennel was a great addition to the salad.  A wonderful, summer meal for the whole family!  The only bummer tonight is our black lab, Lacey, who might have a hurt shoulder…will keep updates on her health.  Wishing you well, Lacey!

 

Buen Provecho!

Leave a Reply

