The ponytail tells the story

Eliza:

 

The Problem

 

Grace is sitting at her computer, googling yellow potatoes and fennel… not for the same salad.  She finds two:  Blood Orange, Beet and Fennel Salad, and Roasted Potato Salad, both  from Bon Appetit and both receiving rave reviews.

 

I ask, “Should I bake bread?”

 

Grace raises her eyebrows and cocks her head, pony tail springing.  “Didn’t you just bake bread?”

 

“We ate it.”

 

“We ate one loaf.  What happened to the other?”

 

“It’s in the freezer.”

 

Silence.

 

“I know, I know, I can take it out of the freezer.”

 

Silence and a small nod.

 

“But if I take it out of the freezer, then it won’t be in the freezer.”

 

Pony tail stills.

Leave a Reply

