On My Own

Tonight I’m taking the opportunity to make a nice dinner by myself!  After days of an unfriendly dentist appointment (although really, who the hell does enjoy going to the dentist?), art galleries saying that they don’t even need volunteers, and just more waiting for a job to pop up, it’s about time to take matters into my own hands and make a meal all by myself.  I spent the morning sipping coffee and flipping through Bon Appetite, an Italian cookbook, and Deborah Madison’s Vegetarian Cooking for Everyone.  Well, Deborah, you won.  Tonight I’m making her recipe for Rice and Eggs with Pesto, Pine Nuts, and Tomatoes.  

  • 1 1/2 cups brown rice
  • 1 or 2 eggs
  • 2 tablespoons butter
  • salt and pepper
  • 1/3 cup pesto
  • 3 tablespoons pine nuts
  • 1/4 cup feta cheese
  • 1 tomato

Boil brown rice.  When done, drain and return to pot. Beat eggs with salt and pepper, and stir in egg and butter into rice, cooking egg with heat from rice.  Now add pesto, pine nuts, and feta cheese.  Dice the tomatoes and put on top of rice… Yum!  Thanks Deborah!

 

It was a rainy, cloudy day spent marveling at the piles of college crap that somehow continue to multiply every time I walk into my room, and after six days days at home I am still living out of a suitcase.  Maybe tomorrow I can start unpacking… (probably won’t happen).  I had a great lunch with my dad in town–we both got the Veggie Chili at Fernald’s.  Let me repeat: my dad (carnivore of the Walton clan) ate Veggie Chili!  Since we had walked to lunch, we took our time eating and talking while the glaring grey clouds raced in the river’s reflection.  We talked about Rome (where I am stoked to be studying starting in January), what I want to do after college (really, Dad…), and the evolution of college dining experience (he had to wear a coat and tie at Williams when he dined… I’m lucky if I’m not in my PJs).  And even though the thought of post-college life completely terrifies me, I seem to have the opposite problem that I used to have: A year ago, there was nothing that truly interested me and motivated me outside of college classes.  Now, I have three completely different passions–food, writing, and Classical art/literature.  When someone asks me “What do you want to do?” I seem to rotate these three possibilities… and still have no idea which I should pursue.  But I have time.  This blog is making me realize that all I can do is just do what makes me happy, and somehow a fruitful story will evolve.

 

So after I’ve just vented to the whole universe, let me get back to tonight’s dinner.  My dad decided to make an apple pie, and just as he was adding the last apple slices into his red bowl, we received a call from our friend Carol, asking if we had plans for dinner–we would love for her to have dinner with us, and Carol also happens to love apple pie, so she just had to come!  I picked out my favorite tablecloth, and am ready to serve dinner!  But, word of caution:  Don’t burn the pine nuts when they’re toasting!  Thanks to my dad, all was salvaged.Image

One thought on “On My Own

  1. Oh wow, this sounds really good! And I can make it in my beautiful new rice cooker which throws a lot less heat in our tiny apt in the summer than boiling rice. Thanks Grace!!

Leave a Reply

